Pragmatic Communion

pragmatic living in the presence of God

who of you by worrying . . .

Who of you by worrying can add a single day to his life?
Luke 12:25

There’s something I pray about on a near daily basis. Something I want to change. Something I’m not in a position to change myself. Something I want God to change. I’m not picky. I’m not asking for a specific thing to happen. I’m praying for an end result, not a method to get there. I don’t care how God wants to work things out, I’m following His direction no matter where it leads. Even in the middle of this situation I don’t particularly like. (okay. this situation I HATE.) I’m praying for the people who are in a position to make the changes needed to get to the result. I know the situation isn’t simple. I know the details of the solution aren’t obvious. If it was easy, it would be done already. There are people and opinions and feelings involved, which always complicate things. So the last thing I’m saying every time I pray about this is “Lord, please let Your will be done.”

And I’m not gonna stop praying about it. I’m like the persistent widow. I already told God He was gonna get tired of hearing me ask for this same thing every flippin day. But I’m not gonna get tired of asking.

And still. The situation stays the same.

So I gotta believe that God is allowing the situation to continue for some reason I don’t understand. Because God can do anything. And if He wanted things to be different. They would be.

Until the situation is resolved – one way or another – I’m going to continue taking responsibility for what I CAN do myself.

And I’m going to keep praying.

Worry is both unnecessary and counterproductive…relinquish the
situation to Me…I will either take care of the problem Myself
or show you how to handle it. In this world, you will have problems,
but you need not lose sight of Me.
Jesus Calling
by Sarah Young

This was dual published on my Pragmatic Compendium blog.

June 8, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. […] was dual published on my Pragmatic Communion […]

    Pingback by who of you by worrying . . . – Pragmatic Compendium | February 21, 2018 | Reply


Leave a comment